## Judges hope for return of architecture entries

In his opening comments Gerald Bowey, chief executive of IBP declared that the evening was a celebration, an opportunity to recognise and reward the best work of journalists' writing in our sectors. He said "that these are the only Awards for the construction, design and property press and that all the nominated journalists, according to the twenty four judges, who deliver their verdicts with a forensic yet morally neutral eye, are at the top of their profession and represent a high degree of understanding of their subject together with the highest standards of writing."

He also echoed the concerns of the judges that a number of senior architecture journals did not respond to the call for entries this year. One judge said "there was a paucity of entries and also a sense that journalists in the Architecture Writer category may be pressed for time more than ever", while both the Magazine category panels felt disappointed that some of the major architecture publications were missing this year.

One of the judges summed-up the general feeling at the final judging session saying, "Architecture forms an essential component of the industry, providing important cultural links between people and buildings, and this noticeable absence narrowed the editorial range of the entries".

Bowey expressed the hope that this concern could be converted into a positive for 2010 and went on to report four new judges this year, including Sarah Ichioka, Director of the Architecture Foundation; Professor Ronald McCaffer, Dept Engineering, Loughborough University; Alasdair Reisner, Head of Industry Affairs, Civil Engineering Contractors Association and Dickon Ross, Editor-in-Chief, Engineering & Technology, bringing the total of new judges up to twelve in the last three years.



Left to right seated: Polly Simpson, marketing manager, Intelligent Engineering; Roger Wilsher, managing director, Abstract Associates; Lee Mallett, consultant, regeneration & communications; Frank Duffy, founder, DEGW; Clive Branson, editor, Commercial Property Register. Standing, from left: Peter Harris, chairman, Art & Work Awards; Richard Aylwin, managing director, Aylwin Communications; Michael Rose, chairman, The Building Centre; Gerald Bowey, chief executive, IBF; Michael Day, partner, Integra Property Services; Richard Northedge, city & business journalist; John Yadoo, partner, Pryme Consulting; Alasdair Reisner, head of industry affairs, CECA; Peter Roper, freelance journalist; David Taylor, editor, London Property Review; Deb Kamofski, design consultant Anderson Fraser; David Lawson. Freelance journalist; Nick Sellen, website builder and programmer; Debbie Legall, freelance journalist; Dickon Ross, editor-in-chief, Engineering & Technology; Ronald McCaffer, Dept Civil Engineering, Loughborough University and Richard Anderson, chief executive, Anderson Fraser. (Not in photograph: Peter Day, correspondent BBC 'In Business' programme; Sarah Ichioka, director, The Architecture Foundation; Peter Murray, director, NLA and Matt Yeoman, partner, Buckley Gray Yeoman).